The thing about decorating for the holidays is that it can take a lot of time and money. To me, each holiday season doesn’t last very long on top of it, when you think about it.

I think that depending on the occasion, decorating for a holiday shouldn’t be done any sooner than a month in advance. I know family members of mine that like to decorate for Christmas before Thanksgiving. I am not one of those people, personally.

Then there are the people who don’t know when to say when, and leave decorations up way past a particular holiday. I see many people in my neighborhood currently with Halloween decorations still up. Many stores have their Christmas displays up way too early, and then there’s people still decked out for Halloween. By the way October thirty-first has passed already for this year, for those still decked out for that occasion. Sorry, but it’s a pet peeve of mine.

In my opinion, it’s better to decorate more according to season, rather than holiday. For instance, instead of decorating for Halloween or Thanksgiving specifically, lean more towards decorating for fall on a whole, that way things can be kept up all season. I also rather invest my money on things that I can keep up for longer periods of time.

I am not saying that I do not like to decorate according to specific holidays at all, just that I like to also incorporate things that I don’t have to take down so soon. When I do buy things for a particular occasion, I like find things on sale, out of season, or in thrift shops. I do buy things at times for the retail price, if it’s something that I really want or love.

Making holiday decorations at home is fun, and rewarding to me. Making something of your own can make it more unique, and add sentiment. When a season comes around, it’s awesome to pull out something that you made yourself. Handmade things also make great gifts.

To sum it up, I’d say when it comes to decking things out for an occasion, to have fun, but remember that it doesn’t have to break the bank. The holidays should be a time of joy and peace, as much as possible. Spending over budget pretty much never adds to anyone’s joy or peace. For those who can get all decked without worry of a budget, if you haven’t already, please remember your local charities. There are many people who aren’t able to buy things for the holidays, and the kindness of others can make a huge difference for people in ways we sometimes don’t even realize. Thanks, and God bless!

